ONE TEAM. ONE STROKE.

Dlsu Dragonboat Team

I have been a part of a sports team for almost two and half years now. I have been receiving a lot of questions as to why I decided to join and try out this sport given that I am rather small. Dragonboat. The first thing that comes to mind would be China or big arms or pain. The first time I heard about it, I remember telling myself I had to join it. It took me months to actually try the sport and when I did, I couldn’t get myself to stop.

Religiously updating my Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf Brew Your Best Year planner, I always take note of the reminders of the week. This week’s reminder is to make the shift. Even when there are challenges along the way, we must see it as an opportunity to grow, most especially in relationships. This gave me an idea to share the relationship we have as a team.

20140905_092433

I would proudly say that I think I have met the best people in college apart from my blockmates. I know there is a reason as to why I was brought to be with the De La Salle University- Dragonboat team. My dragonboat team is a family. Other paddlers have come and gone but there are countless times where we gather as one. Just like any other family, we have been with each other in the highs and lows of the sport itself and life. Others would say we might have grown so used to being with one another because of daily trainings and practices but we still get “separation anxiety” during the weekends and vacations.

1470128_10202411753635650_1012488134_n

We do almost everything together– from going to the dock site, preparing for classes in the locker room, eating meals, doing homeworks, running errands, celebrating family occasions, etc. I consider them my brothers and sisters. And also, just like any other brother-sister relationship, we sometimes get into fights. The sport itself is very competitive yet it brings out teamwork at its finest. We constantly remind ourselves that there is no star player in this sport and we have to consistently work together. In order to get the dragonboat moving and gliding through the water, we must row in a synchronized manner. If one breaks the rhythm, it breaks the momentum thus slowing down the boat. Sometimes we couldn’t help to shout at one another. Trainings get so intense sometime, our emotions and feelings go with it and there would be tension between officers and between paddlers. The best and reassuring part about this is, we don’t let it go beyond the actual training it stays in the boat along with the pain and suffering we go through. We solve the conflict as soon as possible– before we even go home and part ways.

1174765_10151638314036794_1596185834_n

I realized that we constantly make the shift as a team. A team wouldn’t be able to work without cooperation, camaraderie and of course, considering each other as family. Even through conflicts, we make it work and we make it even better because we know what not to do or say to hurt each other. I am lucky to be a part of this team.

Leave a Reply

