Cafe Lidia

This week is my 2nd week of teaching in Antipolo. I think I’m getting the hang of it including the commute going to and from Manila and the 1-hour meeting with the students. For lunch, my mom worked her magic in the kitchen and prepared an excellent meal. It’s been a long time since I last ate of my mom’s cooking. After a few minutes, I felt sleepy while trying to read my new book.

We agreed to leave the house before 5 pm so that I won’t get caught up in the rush hours going home. I suggested we ate dinner first so that when I come home, I will just prepare to sleep. Thus, we chose to eat in a restaurant in Marikina called Cafe Lidia.

Cafe Lidia

Found in Calumpang Marikina, this restaurant is located just in front of the owner’s house. It has a homey vibe and a lot of pictures and memorabilias are displayed on the walls of the restaurant. The cuisine is Italian. You know it is certified because a lot of people are already inside eating their dinner, and as we ate a lot of people came in and out. The restaurant is also found in the booky app and part of the Top 100 restaurants! My parents have eaten here a couple of times already while this was my first time. I must say, the food is good!

Pasta a la Lidia
Pasta with anchovies, olives, capers, tuna and tomatoes in olive oil

My father and I ordered their house specialty, Pasta a la Lidia. In every restaurant, I see to it that I ask for their bestseller. This is what I always order (if it sounds good and appetizing) because I know it’s their best. This dish is good! My mom ordered Aglio e Olio ala Maria pasta while my brother (tried to be healthy) ordered their Grilled Chicken Pasta Caesar Salad.

Aglio e Olio ala Maria
spaghetti pasta with bacon, sun-dried tomato, parsley, chili flakes and garlic in olive oil
Grilled Chicken Pasta Caesar Salad
Grilled Chicken Pasta Caesar Salad

All of us shared pizza as well! Good pizza too!

House Special Pizza
Pepperoni, Ham, Bacon, Mushroom, Onion, Bell Pepper, Pineapple

I am looking forward to taking my family out on food trips in places I want to try out. I want to do this in a way of giving back to them what they’ve done. I think food is the best way to do it! Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

