Cafe Juanita

I spent my Saturday at home, which is now one of the rarest things because I’m always in Manila. For today, my family and I went back to the church we used to handle, Mt. Holy Christian Bible Church in Marikina. My dad was invited to speak, which they do once in a while because they miss his style of preaching. Being in the church, I was able to see the differences and changes from when we were still there. It was about five years ago, when we decided to leave. One thing that I am thankful about is our friendship with the members is still there. Me and my friends still get to keep in touch in spite of the distance and separation.

After the worship service, we decided to go to the Fort to have our lunch. We chose to eat in Cafe Juanita in Burgos Circle.

Cafe Juanita

Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita
My family in Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita
Cafe Juanita

This restaurant has been around since the 1990s. The original restaurant, I believe, is in Quezon City. It is an old house converted into a restaurant. The interiors of the restaurant is very uniquely festive. Anywhere you look there is a colorful piece of fabric or ornament. The chairs are dressed up with about a yard of cut up tulle or ruffles, etc. Their chandeliers are made of Capiz shells. There are also a few masquerade masks scattered all around. It is as if they tried to cover every corner of the Cafe with pieces of fabric or a random decor.

We ordered Adobong Pusit, Ratatoy (Filipino version of Ratatouille) and Kare-Kare. Out of all the food we ordered, I liked the Ratatoy the best. My brother and I even asked our mom to copy it and try to cook it sometime.

My brother and I enjoyed walking around despite the heat because of the vintage cars parked around the circle. We wanted to look for a coffee place but we ended up going home. It was still a good Sunday!

Burgos

20150628_112743

Leave a Reply

